NIH Record - National Institutes of Health

NINR Welcomes New Advisory Council Members

Dr. Ann Cashion, Dr. Jeffrey Kelly, Dr. Nilda (Nena) Peragallo Montano and Dr. Ida M. (Ki) Moore
NINR acting director Dr. Ann Cashion (second from l) welcomes new council members (from l) Dr. Jeffrey Kelly, Dr. Nilda (Nena) Peragallo Montano and Dr. Ida M. (Ki) Moore.

NINR recently announced the appointment of three new members to its National Advisory Council for Nursing Research.

Dr. Jeffrey A. Kelly is professor of psychiatry and behavioral medicine and director of the Center for AIDS Intervention Research at the Medical College of Wisconsin. His academic career focuses on the application of behavioral science principles to the public health challenge of preventing HIV infection.

Dr. Ida M. (Ki) Moore is the Anne Furrow professor and interim dean at the University of Arizona College of Nursing. For the past 25 years, she has focused on the impact of central nervous system-directed treatment for pediatric acute lymphoblastic leukemia and brain tumors on cognitive outcomes and on mechanisms of tissue injury.

Dr. Nilda (Nena) Peragallo Montano became the seventh dean of the School of Nursing at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill in January 2017. Formerly dean and professor of the University of Miami School of Nursing and Health Studies, she is an internationally recognized nurse scientist specializing in health disparities and culturally competent interventions with minority populations.

The NIH Record

The NIH Record, founded in 1949, is the biweekly newsletter for employees of the National Institutes of Health.

Published 25 times each year, it comes out on payday Fridays.

Assistant Editor: Eric Bock (link sends e-mail)

Staff Writer: Amber Snyder (link sends e-mail)