Skip to main content
NIH Record - 75th Anniversary - National Institutes of Health

APAO Presents Annual Awards

APAO awardees pose with their plaques

At the recent awards ceremony are (from l) APAO’s Jimmy Do, Tyrone C. Banks, Dr. Paul Liu, Dr. Rashmi Gopal-Srivastava and Dr. Jianhua Xiong. Not shown is Dr. Kai Ge.

Photo: Mary Zhang

The Asian and Pacific Islander American Organization (APAO) recognized individuals for their contributions to the NIH community at its annual awards ceremony held in December.

The Leadership Excellence Award was jointly presented to Dr. Rashmi Gopal-Srivastava and Dr. Paul Liu. Gopal-Srivastava has strengthened collaboration within NIH and with outside institutions in clinical and translational research, especially in rare diseases research activities. In addition to his own research, Liu makes a wider impact through leadership roles in NIH-wide committees and academic societies and by supervision of generations of young scientists.

Dr. Kai Ge received the Scientific Achievement Award, recognizing his work in the field of epigenomic regulation of cell fate transition. His laboratory identified a large molecular complex named PTIP and subsequent work from his lab and collaborators have highlighted its important functions in adipogenesis, cell differentiation and cancer development. 

APAO’s Young Investigator Award was given to Dr. Jianhua Xiong, whose interest spans cell research to immunology and bioinformatics. He recently received the K22 NHLBI Career Transition Award. 

Tyrone C. Banks, recognized for his continuous support to the Asian-American community at NIH, received the KT Jeang Distinguished Service Award. Many APAO members have worked closely with Banks through the years to realize the aims of equity, diversity and inclusion. Among them was the late Kuan-Teh Jeang, for whom the award is named. 

NIH Deputy Budget Director Cecile Shaya shared insights and experiences as the ceremony’s keynote speaker.

Back to Top