Skip to main content
NIH Record - National Institutes of Health

Five NIH’ers Honored by AAI

Dr. Anthony Fauci

Dr. Anthony Fauci

Dr. Germain

Dr. Ronald Germain

Dr. Hodes

Dr. Richard Hodes

Dr. Pierce

Dr. Susan Pierce

Dr. Ethan Shevach

Dr. Ethan Shevach

The American Association of Immunologists recently announced the inaugural class of distinguished fellows, which includes five scientists from NIH. The recognition honors active, long-term AAI members who have demonstrated “significant research accomplishments and exceptional leadership” in the field of immunology.

Dr. Richard Hodes is director of the National Institute on Aging and head of the immune regulation section of the Experimental Immunology Branch in the National Cancer Institute.

Dr. Anthony Fauci is director of the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases.

Dr. Ronald Germain is NIH distinguished investigator, chief of NIAID’s Laboratory of Immune System Biology and its lymphocyte biology section and director, Center for Advanced Tissue Imaging.

Dr. Susan Pierce is chief of NIAID’s Laboratory of Immunogenetics.

Dr. Ethan Shevach is chief of the cellular immunology section in NIAID’s Laboratory of Immune System Biology.

Election as a distinguished fellow will occur annually and is among the highest honors bestowed by AAI. 

Back to Top