Skip to main content
NIH Record - 75th Anniversary - National Institutes of Health

Salzman Virology Award Nominations Due by Sept. 21

Dr. Salzman

Dr. Norman Salzman

The Foundation for the National Institutes of Health, the NIH virology interest group and the Salzman organizing committee announce the 22nd annual Norman P. Salzman Memorial Awards and Symposium in Basic and Clinical Virology.

The awards have been established to recognize outstanding research in the field of basic and/or clinical virology at NIH, FDA, Fort Detrick Laboratories, Leidos, USDA or the Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences. They honor the 40-year career of Dr. Norman P. Salzman in virology research and his accomplishments in mentoring of young scientists.

Starting this year, two awards will be given: the first to a postdoctoral fellow and the second to a graduate student/postbaccalaureate trainee. The winning postdoctoral fellow will receive a plaque and an award of $2,500. The winning graduate student/postbaccalaureate trainee will receive a plaque and an award of $1,000.

The application due date is Sept. 21. Forms and information can be found at Applications must be submitted by email to

The awards will be presented at a symposium being held virtually on Nov. 9. It will include prominent speakers in the field of virology, including: keynoter Dr. Rino Rappuoli, chief scientist and head, external R&D at GlaxoSmithKline; Dr. Jesse Bloom of Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center; Dr. David Wang of Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis; Dr. Richard Kuhn of Purdue University; and this year’s tribute speaker, Dr. Marshall Bloom, chief of NIAID’s Rocky Mountain Laboratories.

For more information, contact Dr. Nihal Altan-Bonnet ( or Janelle Lewis (

Individuals who need reasonable accommodation to participate in this virtual event should contact Lewis (301-594-3919) and/or the Federal Relay (1-800-877-8339).

Back to Top