Skip to main content
NIH Record - 75th Anniversary - National Institutes of Health

NIDDK’s Tycko Elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Dr. Robert Tycko

NIH's Dr. Robert Tycko is elected to the AAAS.

Dr. Robert Tycko is among 228 new fellows elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Tycko is chief of the solid-state nuclear magnetic resonance and biomolecular physics section, Laboratory of Chemical Physics, NIDDK. He was elected into the section on chemistry. 

Other fellows from the 2017 class include singer-songwriter John Legend, actress/comedian Carol Burnett and music journalist Greil Marcus. 

The academy, established in 1780 by founders of the nation, undertakes studies of complex and emerging problems. Current projects focus on science, technology and global security; social policy and American institutions; the humanities and culture; and education.

New fellows will be inducted at a ceremony on Oct. 7 at academy headquarters in Cambridge, Mass.

Back to Top