NIH Record - National Institutes of Health

Annual EDI Awards Open for Nominations

The Office of Equity, Diversity and Inclusion (EDI) is accepting nominations for the annual Harvey J. Bullock Jr. Award, the Yvonne Thompson Maddox Award and EDI Award of the Year. 

These awards recognize NIH employees who champion the ideals of equity, diversity and/or inclusion. Nominations must be submitted no later than Friday, Apr. 17 and may be emailed to Ijeoma Ofoha,

The Bullock award honors a non-supervisory employee or group of employees at grade 12 and below or equivalent. The Maddox Award recognizes a non-supervisory employee or group of employees at grade 13 and above or equivalent. The EDI award honors executives, managers or supervisors who have made significant contributions toward furthering NIH’s EDI efforts.

Awardees will be recognized during the 2020 NIH Director’s Awards Ceremony, Aug. 19.  

For more information, visit To nominate, visit You may also contact your institute/center awards coordinator for details.

The NIH Record

The NIH Record, founded in 1949, is the biweekly newsletter for employees of the National Institutes of Health.

Published 25 times each year, it comes out on payday Fridays.

Assistant Editor: Eric Bock (link sends e-mail)

Staff Writer: Amber Snyder (link sends e-mail)