Skip to main content
NIH Record - National Institutes of Health

Winners Announced in ORWH Competition to Enhance Faculty Gender Diversity

NIH has awarded $50,000 each to 10 institutions for their efforts in enhancing faculty gender diversity. Last year, the Office of Research on Women’s Health announced the competition aimed at increasing gender diversity among faculty members at colleges and universities and removing barriers for transformative change. 

The NIH Prize for Enhancing Faculty Gender Diversity in Biomedical and Behavioral Science recognizes institutions that have acted to effect systemic change within their biomedical and behavioral science departments. 

Winners of the competition are:

  • WISELI: A Wise Approach to Gender Equity, Women in Science and Engineering Leadership Institute, University of Wisconsin–Madison
  • A Framework to Promote Gender Diversity & Equity, Rochester Institute of Technology
  • Promoting Women of Diverse Creative Expertise, Worcester Polytechnic Institute
  • No One Size Fits All: FOCUS’s Mosaic of Initiatives, Perelman School of Medicine, University of Pennsylvania
  • Participatory Approaches for Gender Equity: CWIMS, Center for Women in Medicine and Science, University of Minnesota Medical School
  • Enhancing Faculty Gender Diversity at MD Anderson; Office of Faculty Diversity, Equity and Inclusion; University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center
  • FIU ADVANCE; Office to Advance Women, Equity & Diversity; Florida International University
  • Leveraging Evidence to Enhance Faculty Diversity, University of Houston
  • Gender Diversity in Medicine, Columbia University Vagelos College of Physicians and Surgeons
  • Achieving Gender Equity at Boston University, Trustees of Boston University, Boston University Medical Campus

“Through the Prize for Enhancing Faculty Gender Diversity, NIH fosters supportive, inclusive and equitable environments in which women faculty members can further their careers in the biomedical and biobehavioral sciences,” said ORWH director Dr. Janine Clayton. “Advancing women into leadership roles in the sciences is critical to producing good science. Diversity in the scientific workplace generates more innovative solutions; diverse teams are more productive and produce more impactful research.”

ORWH also recognizes the following institutions as honorable mentions for their commitment to faculty gender diversity:

  • Intersectional Directions: Faculty Success @XULA, Xavier University of Louisiana
  • Colorado Trails to Advance Gender Diversity, University of Colorado School of Medicine, Anschutz Medical Campus
  • Women in Medicine and Science Program, Office of Faculty Affairs, Wake Forest School of Medicine
  • University of Chicago: Using 3 R’s to Elevate Women, Department of Medicine Women’s Committee
  • Promoting Women Scientists During Covid and Beyond, Mass General Brigham, Harvard Medical School
  • Eye of the Tiger: Women with a Will to Thrive, Alliance for Women in Medicine and Science, Southern Illinois University School of Medicine

On Tuesday, Oct. 5, ORWH will host a forum, Effective Approaches to Fostering Faculty Gender Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion: Celebrating Progress, to recognize and promote the winners’ effective, evidence-based practices, address challenges and improve the existing career paradigm for many women in biomedical and behavioral science. 

Registration required to attend. Register at

Back to Top