Front Page

Previous Story

Next Story

NIH Record

Tabors Win Mentoring Award

The Association for Women in Science Bethesda chapter presented its Annual Award for Excellence in Mentoring to Dr. Celia Tabor and Dr. Herbert Tabor, both of NIDDK, during a recent meeting in the Cloisters chapel at NIH.

Dr. Edith Miles (l) presents the AWIS mentoring award to Drs. Herbert and Celia Tabor of NIDDK. Miles is one of many scientists who benefitted from the Tabors' guidance.

The Tabors are senior scientists who have worked as a team in pursuing excellent science, in raising a family of four children, and in mentoring researchers in their own laboratory group. They have served as role models by treating each other and those around them fairly and equally. Importantly, they also mentored and encouraged young, independent scientists in the Laboratory of Biochemical Pharmacology during the many years that Herb was laboratory chief. Many of these scientists now hold senior positions at NIH and elsewhere. They include Matthew Rechler, Reed Wickner, Achilles A. Demetriou, George D. Markham, Anthony Furano, Robert T. Schimke, David Korn, Claude Klee, Nancy Nossal, Edith W. Miles, Christian R. H. Raetz, Allen Minton, Michael Klagbrun and Deborah Hinton.

Celia and Herbert Tabor received M.D. degrees in the early 1940's from Columbia and Harvard, respectively. Herb started working at NIH in 1943, whereas Celia first worked at George Washington University School of Medicine as a research associate and a clinical instructor and then came to NIH in 1952. Herb has served as editor of the Journal of Biological Chemistry from 1970 to the present and was elected to the National Academy of Sciences in 1977. The Tabors are foremost authorities on the microbial biosynthetic pathways of polyamines, the enzymes that catalyze steps in these pathways, and the functions of polyamines. Celia and Herb have jointly received two prestigious prizes for their research: the 1986 Hillebrand Prize from the Chemical Society of Washington (a division of the American Chemical Society) and the 1996 Rose Award from the American Society of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology.

Up to Top