Front Page

Previous Story

Next Story

NIH Record vertical blue bar column separator

New Appointments graphic

Deutsch Named to Head DEAS

Mary Frances Deutsch has been named new director of the Division of Extramural Activities Support (DEAS), effective Mar. 22. She joins NIH from the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), Center for Medicaid and State Operations, where she was a grant project officer and health insurance specialist.

Deutsch has worked for the federal government for 5 years. During her tenure at CMS, she received the Administrator's Achievement Award in recognition of expert policy analysis work. She also received the DHHS Secretary's Award for Distinguished Service, as part of the New Freedom, a team effort for "extraordinary initiative, creativity and improving the lives of persons with disabilities and enhancing their integration into the community."

Mary Frances Deutsch
Prior to joining CMS, Deutsch worked as a disability policy specialist for the Rehabilitation Engineering and Assistive Technology Society of North America, evaluating the impact of federal policy in health care, housing, education and telecommunications on persons with disabilities.

Deutsch earned a law degree from Creighton University School of Law, a bachelor of arts (magna cum laude) in history and political science from the University of St. Thomas in St. Paul, Minn., and she is a member of the Minnesota State Bar Association. Other activities include being a past member of the University of St. Thomas alumni board from 1991-1997, and a member of the board of directors of the Epilepsy Foundation of Minnesota from 1992-1997.

"Ms. Deutsch's numerous career and civic accomplishments, her capacity to lead groups and activities in new and challenging programs, and her interpersonal skills will serve her well in managing the complexities of implementing and staffing the DEAS," said Dr. Norka Ruiz Bravo, NIH deputy director for extramural research, who made the appointment.

Two Join Center for Scientific Review

Florence J. Hoffmann Pedersen has joined the Center for Scientific Review as an assistant director for the Division of Receipt and Referral. She comes to CSR from NCI, where she was a referral officer and referral liaison. She holds an M.A. in sociology from Duquesne University, where she taught sociology. Pedersen entered government service as a statistician for the Census Bureau. Prior to joining NCI, she served 17 years as a mathematical statistician for the U.S. Army Center for Environmental Health Research. There, she provided the full range of biostatistical support for environmental health hazards research.
Dr. Marc Rigas has joined CSR as scientific review administrator. He manages reviews of special mechanisms in both the bioengineering sciences and technologies, and the biophysical and chemical sciences integrated review groups. Rigas previously was a scientific review administrator at NCRR. He earned his Ph.D. in bioengineering from Pennsylvania State University. Before coming to NIH, he was a research scientist with the EPA Office of Research and Development and was an adjunct faculty member at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas. He also served on an interagency coordinating committee for the National Children's Study, directed by NICHD.

EAO Group Elects New Co-Chairs

The NIH extramural administrative officers (EAO) group met recently to elect two new co-chairs for 2004. They are Matthew Burr, NEI, and Celena Shirley, NIAID. The two will serve one-year appointments to lead the group in its monthly meetings. Darlene Lee, NEI, will serve this year as treasurer for the group. Outgoing co-chairs are Nadel Griffith, CSR, and Charlotte Wiltshire, NHLBI.

"It has been a great year for me serving as the co-chair for the EAO group," said Wiltshire. "It is a leadership experience that I highly recommend to others as I feel that I have grown tremendously as an individual in taking on this responsibility. It has given me the opportunity to work closely with the EAO members and to contribute to our important role as administrators at NIH."

Participants in the EAO group include (front, from l) Charlotte Wiltshire, Nadel Griffith, Matthew Burr. At rear are (from l) Celena Shirley, Darlene Lee.

The EAO group serves as a resource for communicating the latest administrative issues and developments at NIH. To accomplish this goal, the group meets monthly and holds additional "super sessions" and an annual retreat. Information from the NIH executive officer meetings, as well as other projects that are in development, are major sources of information and agenda topics at each meeting. Additionally, subcommittees on topics such as property, travel, events, technology and procurement keep members abreast of developing issues and concerns.

Outgoing co-chair Griffith remarked, "Serving as co-chair during 2003 has been a rewarding experience. In a year when the work scope of administrative offices has grown significantly, the EAO group has provided a forum for information dissemination and idea-sharing. I am privileged to have co-chaired the group during this time and encourage participation of all EAOs in 2004."

Up to Top