Front Page

Previous Story

Next Story

NIH Record


FASEB Excellence in Science Award

Dr. Eva J. Neer, a member of the National Advisory General Medical Sciences Council and an NIGMS grantee for the past 15 years, has been named recipient of this year's FASEB Excellence in Science Award. The award honors Neer for "her pioneering contributions to knowledge of cellular signal transduction mechanisms, and her leadership as mentor and educator in the biochemical and biomedical sciences." She is a professor of medicine at Harvard Medical School and a senior biochemist in the department of medicine at Brigham and Women's Hospital in Boston. The award, sponsored by Eli Lilly and Co. and including a $10,000 unrestricted research grant and recognition plaque, was presented at the annual meeting of the American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology in Washington, D.C. In addition to NIGMS support, Neer has received research support for shorter periods from FIC, NIAMS and NINDS.

AADR Honors NIH'ers

Dr. Henning Birkedal-Hansen (second from r) director, Division of Intramural Research, NIDR, and Dr. Mark Hoon (l), from NIDR's Oral Infection and Immunity Branch, were both honored with awards at the American Association for Dental Research meeting held recently in Minneapolis. Pictured with the award recipients are AADR president Dr. John Keller (r), and AADR honoree Dr. Chris Squier. Birkedal-Hansen received the 1998 AADR Distinguished Scientist Award in recognition of his outstanding research accomplishments in the field of oral science, his originality and creativity in research, and his sustained record of achievement. The award includes a $5,000 cash prize and is supported by SmithKline Beecham Consumer Brands. Hoon and coauthor Dr. Nicolas Ryba (not shown) were honored by AADR with the 1998 William J. Gies Award, given for the best paper published in AADR's Journal of Dental Research during the preceding year. The paper, titled "Analysis and Comparison of Partial Sequences of Clones from Taste-bud-enriched cDNA library," appeared in the journal last April. A $500 cash prize accompanies the award.

Up to Top