Front Page

Previous Story

Next Story

NIH Record vertical blue bar column separator
Awardees graphic

NIH Researchers Elected to AAM

In recognition of their scientific achievement and contributions to the advancement of microbiology, six NIH researchers were recently elected into the American Academy of Microbiology (AAM): Dr. John E. Bennett and Dr. Alan Sher of NIAID; Dr. Paul Kolenbrander and Dr. Sharon K. Wahl, NIDCR; Dr. Robert G. Martin, NIDDK; and Dr. Sue H. Wickner, NCI.

The 1,500-member academy provides honorific leadership to the 43,000-member American Society for Microbiology. The AAM promotes programs of professional recognition and fosters the highest professional and ethical standing of microbiologists. It is the only group of its kind devoted entirely to microbiologists and the science of microbiology.

Eighth Grader Wins NIDA Poster Contest

The National Institute on Drug Abuse and Scholastic Classroom Magazines unveiled the Grand Prize artwork from the national "Heads Up: Real News About Drugs and Your Body" poster contest on May 16 at Scholastic headquarters in New York City. Ania Lisa Etienne (above), an 8th-grader at Mark Twain School/I.S. 239 in Brooklyn, won Grand Prize for her vivid illustration of a distressed teenager looking at her image in a shattered mirror, a symbol Ania says is the result of bad luck that comes from being involved with drugs. The contest was sponsored by Scholastic as part of the ongoing Heads Up science-based drug education campaign featured in Scholastic's classroom magazines, reaching 8.5 million middle and high school students across the country. Ania's poster, "You Can't Sniff Away Your Sorrows," was chosen from nearly 1,100 entries and will form the basis of a poster to be included in the Heads Up program during the 2003-2004 school year. The campaign was created in partnership with NIDA.

Kirschstein Wins ASBMB Honor

Dr. Ruth Kirschstein, senior advisor to the NIH director, was honored Apr. 13 with the Howard K. Schachman Public Service Award of the American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, one of the members of the Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology. The award, given at an ASBMB meeting in San Diego, included presentation of "an absolutely fantastic historic microscope, built in 1837," said Kirschstein, who plans to donate it either to the NIH director or to NIH's Office of History. Kirschstein was the Schachman Award's second honoree; last year it was given to former Rep. John Porter (R-Ill.).

Up to Top