skip navigation nih record
Vol. LXIII, No. 15
July 22, 2011

previous story

next story


Greenberg Named NIGMS Acting Director

Dr. Judith H. Greenberg

Dr. Judith H. Greenberg will lead NIGMS while the search continues for a permanent director to replace Dr. Jeremy Berg.

“With Dr. Greenberg as acting director, NIGMS will be in very able hands during this transition period. Not only does she have a long history of exceptional leadership at the NIGMS and NIH levels, she has already capably served a previous tour of duty in the acting director position,” said NIH director Dr. Francis Collins.

Greenberg will oversee the institute’s $2 billion budget, which primarily funds basic research, research training and programs designed to increase the diversity of the biomedical and behavioral research workforce.

“I look forward to continuing our efforts to capitalize on exciting scientific opportunities, get input on and respond to the needs of the research community, and build in other ways on the considerable progress we’ve made during Dr. Berg’s tenure,” Greenberg said.

“In the months ahead, we will also be focusing on implementing our new strategic plan for research training. And we very much look forward to a major milestone in 2012, when NIGMS marks its 50th anniversary,” she added.

A developmental biologist by training, Greenberg has directed the NIGMS Division of Genetics and Developmental Biology since 1988. In fiscal year 2010, the division’s budget was $566 million.

Since 1984, Greenberg has been project officer for the Human Genetic Cell Repository, which provides cell lines and DNA samples to scientists studying genetic diseases. She has been instrumental in overseeing the evolution of the collection to anticipate and meet the needs of the human genetic research community.

She served as NIGMS acting director from May 2002 to November 2003.

Greenberg’s other leadership roles at NIGMS include overseeing development of the institute’s strategic plan issued in 2008 and its strategic plan for research training issued earlier this year. She now chairs the implementation committee for the training strategic plan.

Greenberg has a strong interest in bioethical issues, including those related to community consultation in genetic research and currently serves on the NIH bioethics task force.

She has also advised NIH on human embryonic stem cells and gene therapy. In addition, Greenberg has served as principal leader of the NIH Director’s Pioneer Award Program since 2004 and of the NIH Director’s New Innovator Award Program since its inception in 2007.

Prior to joining NIGMS as a program administrator in 1981, Greenberg conducted research in the intramural program of what is now NIDCR. Her focus was on cell migration and differentiation in early embryonic development.

Greenberg’s honors include a Public Health Service Special Recognition Award in 1991 and a Presidential Meritorious Executive Rank Award in 1999. Her leadership of the Pioneer and New Innovator Award programs was recognized with NIH Director’s Awards in 2006 and 2008, respectively.

Greenberg earned a B.S. degree in biology from the University of Pittsburgh, an M.A. degree in biology from Boston University and a Ph.D. degree in developmental biology from Bryn Mawr College.

Austin Appointed NIEHS Associate Director for Management
Dr. Judith H. Greenberg

NIEHS recently welcomed Joellen Harper Austin as its new associate director for management and executive officer. She will serve as principal advisor to NIEHS/NTP director Dr. Linda Birnbaum on all management issues affecting the institute, ranging from acquisitions, administrative services and information services to financial management, facilities management and the institute’s proactive environmental sustainability initiative.

Austin comes to NIEHS from the National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke, where she had been associate director for management and executive officer since February 2007. After joining NINDS in 2000 as chief grants management officer, she served as deputy executive officer and acting executive officer there. Since joining NIH as a Presidential Management Fellow in 1989, Austin also served as chief grants management officer for the National Center for Research Resources and assistant grants policy officer in the NIH Office of Extramural Research.

Austin received a master of science in management degree at Stanford University Graduate School of Business in 2003. In addition, she holds a master of public affairs from the Lyndon B. Johnson School of Public Affairs at the University of Texas and a bachelor of arts in economics and government from Skidmore College.

CSR Establishes Advisory Council
Dr. Judith H. Greenberg
The recent meeting of the CSR Advisory Council included (top row, from l) Dr. Bruce Alberts, Dr. Toni Scarpa, executive secretary Dr. Cheryl Kitt, Dr. Alice Clark, Dr. David Korn. In bottom row are (from l) Drs. Keith Yamamoto, Etty Benveniste, Marie Krousel-Wood and John Cacioppo.

Scientific experts from across the country have joined a new council, which met recently to begin advising the Center for Scientific Review on the peer review of NIH grant applications in CSR scientific review groups.

Members include: Dr. Toni Scarpa, CSR director, chair; Dr. Bruce Alberts, professor, department of biochemistry and biophysics, University of California, San Francisco; Dr. Etty Benveniste, professor and chair, department of cell biology, University of Alabama; Dr. John Cacioppo, Tiffany and Margaret Blake distinguished service professor, department of psychology, University of Chicago; Dr. Alice Clark, Frederick A.P. Bernard distinguished professor of pharmacognosy and vice chancellor for research and sponsored programs, University of Mississippi; Dr. Garret Fitzgerald, chair, department of pharmacology, director, Institute for Translational Medicine and Therapeutics and McNeil professor in translational medicine, University of Pennsylvania; Dr. Heidi Hamm, professor and chair, department of pharmacology, Vanderbilt University Medical Center; Dr. David Korn, professor of pathology and vice provost for research, Harvard University; Dr. Marie Krousel-Wood, director, Center for Health Research, Ochsner Clinic Foundation and clinical professor of epidemiology and family medicine, Tulane University; Dr. Peter MacLeish, George H.W. and Barbara Bush professor of neuroscience, chair, department of anatomy and neurobiology and director, Neuroscience Institute, Morehouse School of Medicine; Dr. Andrew Murray, professor of molecular and cellular biology and director, Bauer Fellows Program, Harvard University; Dr. Keith Yamamoto, executive vice dean, School of Medicine, department of cellular and molecular pharmacology, University of California, San Francisco.

back to top of page