skip navigation nih record
Vol. LXIV, No. 17
August 17, 2012

previous story

next story

PECASE Honors Three from Intramural NIH
Dr. Peter Crompton Dr. Daniel Larson Dr. Justin Taraska

NIH intramural PECASE honorees are (from l) Dr. Peter Crompton, Dr. Daniel Larson and Dr. Justin Taraska.

Three NIH intramural scientists are among 20 NIH-supported recipients of the 2011 Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers, announced July 23 by the White House. President Obama named a total of 96 researchers as PECASE recipients. They hail from 8 departments, including HHS, as well as EPA, NASA and the National Science Foundation. It is the highest honor bestowed by the U.S. government on science and engineering professionals in the early stages of their independent research careers.

The intramural honorees are:

Dr. Peter Crompton, chief of the malaria infection biology and immunity unit, Laboratory of Immunogenetics, NIAID, for studies on the mechanisms of naturally acquired immunity to malaria;

Dr. Daniel Larson, head, systems biology of gene expression, Laboratory of Receptor Biology and Gene Expression, NCI, for studies on transcription dynamics of single human cells; and

Dr. Justin Taraska, an investigator in the Laboratory of Molecular and Cellular Imaging, NHLBI, for studies on the architecture and control of vesicle fusion in excitable cells.

“This Presidential Award recognizes the achievements of scientists early in their career who show exceptional potential for leadership in science and technology,” said NIH director Dr. Francis Collins. “These individuals have only recently started research in their fields, and they have the potential for long and productive careers working on discoveries to improve the health of our nation.”

Since the program began in 1996, NIH has funded a total of 213 PECASE recipients. A complete list of NIH-supported recipients and program information is available at Awardees were honored by the President at a White House ceremony in late July.

back to top of page