skip navigation nih record
Vol. LXIV, No. 22
October 26, 2012

previous story

next story


Executive Leadership Program Graduates Honored

The Executive Leadership Program class of 2012

The Executive Leadership Program class of 2012 includes (front row, from l) Megan Columbus, OD; Katy Perry, OD; Lillian Shum, NIDCR; Rochelle Long, NIGMS; Michael Mowatt, NIAID; Elaine Collier, NCATS; Paul Sheehy, NIGMS. In second row are (from l) Mary Wolfe, NIEHS; Ivor D’Souza, NLM; Joshua Rosenthal, FIC; Avi Nath, NINDS; Henry Masur, CC; Stefano Bertuzzi, NIMH; Gaya Dowling, NIA; Jill Harper, NIAID; and Donna DiMichele, NHLBI.

Participants in NIH’s Executive Leadership Program for 2012 graduated from the 7-month training experience recently. Highlights of the ceremony included messages about the importance of leadership and characteristics of leaders from Norm Augustine, chair, NIH Scientific Management Review Board and retired chairman and CEO, Lockheed Martin Corp.; Dr. Michael Gottesman, NIH deputy director for intramural research; and Dr. Thomas Insel, NIMH director.

“The old adage is that management is about doing things right; leadership is about doing the right thing,” said Insel. “But really leadership is about people. In real estate it may be location, location, location. Sometimes at NIH it seems we are about parking, parking, parking. But for leaders, the focus really is people, people, people.”

Participants presented results of their action learning projects with their project sponsors, IC directors, executive officers and other guests. The projects represent significant challenges currently having an impact on NIH.

Details and application information about the 2013 ExLP will be available soon at

back to top of page