skip navigation nih record
Vol. LXVI, No. 22
October 24, 2014


previous story

next story

Drs. Douglas Lowy and John Schiller

Dr. Steve Rosenberg

NIH, FDA Win ‘Deals of Distinction’ Award


NCI Scientists Win National Medal of Technology and Innovation

Drs. Douglas Lowy (l) and John Schiller
Drs. Douglas Lowy (l) and John Schiller

President Obama has announced that two NCI scientists will be recipients of the National Medal of Technology and Innovation, the nation’s highest honor for technological achievement. The honorees, Dr. John Schiller of the Laboratory of Cellular Oncology and NCI deputy director Dr. Douglas Lowy, also from the same lab, will receive their medals at a White House ceremony later this year.

Awarded annually, the National Medal of Technology and Innovation recognizes individuals who have made outstanding contributions to science and engineering. Lowy and Schiller have been honored numerous times, for example in 2011 with the Albert B. Sabin Gold Medal Award. Their discoveries enabled the development of HPV vaccines. As a direct result of Lowy’s and Schiller’s research, vaccines now exist that safely protect against infection with the HPV types that cause most cervical cancers in women and anal and oral cancers in both sexes, as well as HPV types that cause genital warts in both sexes.

The National Medal of Technology and Innovation was created by statute in 1980 and is administered for the White House by the Department of Commerce’s Patent and Trademark Office. The medal recognizes those who have made lasting contributions to America’s competitiveness and quality of life and helped strengthen the nation’s technological workforce.

NCI’s Rosenberg Wins Two Awards

Dr. Steve Rosenberg

NCI Surgery Branch chief Dr. Steve Rosenberg has been selected to receive the 2015 American Cancer Society Medal of Honor and will share the 2014 Massry Prize with two other scientists. The ACS award is the highest honor bestowed by the society and is given for outstanding contributions to cancer control in four categories: clinical research, basic research, cancer control and philanthropy. Rosenberg won the Basic Research Award, to be presented next summer in New York City. The Massry Prize consists of a 10 oz. gold medal, a certificate and $66,000 for each of the three honorees. It includes a proclamation from the City of Beverly Hills and requires three talks, to be given in Los Angeles in October.



NIH, FDA Win ‘Deals of Distinction’ Award

‘Deals of Distinction’ Awards

NIH and the Food and Drug Administration received a top national award for the year’s most outstanding intellectual property licensing deal, for technology transfer of a pioneering, low-cost meningitis vaccine launched in sub-Saharan Africa. The 2014 Deals of Distinction Award (r) was presented to the two agencies and their collaborators by the Licensing Executives Society at its 50th annual meeting, Oct. 5-8 in San Francisco. NIH and FDA teamed with PATH, a Seattle-based non-profit leader in global health innovation, and the Serum Institute of India to develop MenAfriVac. The vaccine has a low production cost and does not require constant refrigeration, making it ideal for use in remote locations. A critical part of the manufacturing process for the vaccine is based on a patent license granted from the NIH Office of Technology Transfer to PATH. The vaccine targets the most common form of bacterial meningitis found in sub-Saharan Africa. “We are quite pleased about this inspired work in vaccine research as well as being able to transfer the intellectual property in a way to have such a spectacular impact on public health in this region of Africa,” said NIH director Dr. Francis Collins.

back to top of page